supper tonight – 3.7.12 – french onion soup

french onion soup

A perfect storm. Micah had just brewed up a giant batch of beef stock, we had two very large onions in our veggie bowl on the counter, and Micah had a hankerin’ for some French onion soup. I hadn’t made it in a while, but decided to forego searching for a recipe and wing it. Not always the best idea (and I’ve eaten some not-so-great meals as a result!), but this one was a winner.

What’s in it:

  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 2 big onions, quartered and thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup red wine
  • 4 cups of that delicious beef stock
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • toasted whole wheat bread
  • shredded gruyere

Step-by-step:

  • Melt the butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat.
  • Add the onions and cook ’em until they’re super-soft and golden brown.
  • Add the wine and the beef stock.
  • Simmer for about 10 minutes.
  • Season with salt and pepper.
  • Top with bread and cheese.
  • Broil until the cheese is nice and bubbly.
  • Serve (carefully) and enjoy!

This made four big, hearty, main-dish bowls of soup. When I make it again, I probably won’t change anything (except for doubling the recipe!).

Categories: recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “supper tonight – 3.7.12 – french onion soup

  1. I made this the other night but added a little more wine and instant chicken stock instead of proper beef, similar yet different!!

    • How did it turn out? (Good, I hope!)

      • It turned out okay but I’m going to do a rerun soon and use grated cheese instead of instant Parmesan cheese. I have such a supply of soups that I made in the freezer that I need to clean it out first and start again. I think I need to make smaller batches!

      • Sounds like it! We have the opposite problem–we always end up making soup recipes that yield 2-4 servings, and then I’m sad when they’re gone! The fresh grated cheese will probably make a world of difference.

thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

