muffins for Monday – base recipe #3 – whole wheat oatmeal muffins

This might be my favorite muffin recipe because I can make it even if I don’t have any good fresh fruit or vegetables to throw in, plus it’s really easy to adapt. (This one is also lower in fat than the first two because it doesn’t contain butter. Not that I have anything against butter, and you could certainly add some if you want to make these extra moist. Or, you could just butter them afterwards like Micah always does.)

What’s in it:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup fat-free Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup milk

Step-by-step:

  • Preheat your oven to 400°F.
  • Prepare 12 (yes, 12!) muffin cups for action.
  • Mix the oats, flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and brown sugar in one bowl.
  • In another bowl, beat the eggs, add the yogurt, then add the milk.
  • Combine the wet and dry ingredients, then divide into your 12 muffin cups.
  • Bake for about 15-20 minutes. Then, well, you know what to do.

Why I like these: they’re like a blank canvas, just waiting for inspiration to strike!

The first time I made this recipe, I added a cup of chopped walnuts and 2 tablespoons of orange zest to the dry ingredients, and I substituted orange juice for the milk. The result? These yummy, nutty, orange-y babies:

(Yes, I ate a couple of bites of this one before I realized I ought to snap a photo. It just smelled so heavenly, I couldn’t resist!)

The second time I made this recipe, I added 1/2 cup cocoa powder to the dry ingredients and about 3/4 a cup of dried cranberries at the end. No photos of this variation, but they were pretty yummy.

My favorite version so far? Add 1/2 tablespoon lemon extract to the wet ingredients OR a few tablespoons of lemon zest to the dry. At the end, fold in 1/3 of a cup of sunflower seeds. (I used the unroasted, unsalted variety, but I’ll bet the roasted and salted kind would give these muffins a yummy salty-sweet kick!)

I’m calling this batch “sunshine muffins,” and not just because they’re such a lovely golden brown. The flavor last week was lemon and sunflower seeds, and after trying one of these babies I can say that it did indeed brighten my day.

Categories: recipes | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “muffins for Monday – base recipe #3 – whole wheat oatmeal muffins

  1. Pingback: whoa, thanks! « humble feast

thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

