supper tonight – 4.5.12 – cauliflower soup & grilled cheese

Sorry it’s been a while (crazy week!), but..

…remember last Tuesday night when I really wanted to make Growandcook’s cauliflower soup, but we ended up making pizza instead?

Well, just as I predicted, we polished off the leftover pizza that Wednesday night (it was just as good the second time, by the way), so Thursday night was soup night!

I couldn’t follow the original recipe exactly as I didn’t have all the ingredients in the same amounts, so I subbed garlic and onion for the leeks and Greek yogurt for the heavy cream. I’m sure this version tastes a little different than it was supposed to, but it was thick and creamy and delicious! And, just as Growandcook promised, it did indeed make excellent leftovers to take to work the next day with some crusty bread and fruit.

Those bright red swirls of smoky, spicy chili oil turned this already-great soup into something really special...

What’s in it:

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1/2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 large onion, chopped
  • 3/4 pound cauliflower florets (we used frozen, but fresh would be better)
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1/4 cup fat-free Greek yogurt
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • oil for drizzling (we used Bobby Flay’s guajillo chile oil, which was rich and smoky with just a touch of heat, not to mention a gorgeous shade of fiery red!)

Step-by-step:

  • Heat the butter and olive oil in a medium saucepan on medium heat.
  • Add the garlic and onions and sauté until translucent, about 5 minutes.
  • Add the cauliflower and chicken stock, bring to a boil, and reduce to a simmer until the cauliflower is nice and tender. (Frozen only took about 5-7 minutes, but fresh will take longer.)
  • Use a stick blender to puree the soup in the pot, or transfer in batches to your regular blender and puree until smooth.
  • Add the yogurt and nutmeg. Blend a little more, until your soup is thick and rich and creamy. Season with salt and pepper to your liking.
  • Divide into bowls (2-4, depending on if this is a main course or starter/side).
  • Drizzle with good olive oil, chile oil, or if you’re feeling fancy, truffle oil. 🙂

It’s that easy! And tasty! We enjoyed our soup with grilled cheese sandwiches:

crispy-crusty-gooey-melty grilled cheese...mmm....

A perfect quick-and-easy weeknight supper.

Categories: recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “supper tonight – 4.5.12 – cauliflower soup & grilled cheese

  1. That looks great – I love the top photo.

    • Thanks! I’ve been having trouble getting the settings right on my camera these last couple of posts, but I was pleased with how that one turned out. (And it tasted even better than it looks!)

  2. That looks like the best dinner ever. I am a big fan of creamy soup and grilled cheese dinners. Yummy!

    The chili oil looks great on the soup too. Really makes me hungry!

    • Soup and grilled cheese is one of my favorite dinners, too. It’s funny, because when I was a kid, I kind of thought you could only eat grilled cheese (Kraft singles on Sunbeam white) with tomato soup (Campbell’s from a can). It wasn’t until a few years ago that it ever occurred to me to try a new soup+sandwich combo!

  3. Kelly

    I’m so glad you loved it and took it to a whole new level! I’ll definitely try your variation next time I make it.

    • I was worried the yogurt might be too tangy to sub for the cream, but it was actually really mild and yummy. Let me know if you try it out!

  4. Soup looks lovely and the added chili oil makes it. Excuse my ignorance here but I have never made a grilled cheese sandwich like yours. The question I’m trying to ask here is how on earth do you get a crispy top and a runny middle for your cheese sandwich? What’s the secret? Very intrigued.

    • We made ours by slicing the bread super thin and the cheese kind of thick. Micah heated his cast iron skillet on medium and greased it with some butter, so the sandwiches sizzle and get kind of crispy-fried in the butter. Cook until nice and brown on one side, then add a little more butter and flip to brown the other side. Let me know if you try it out!

      • I will give it a try when I get to the supermarket next time and buy a block of cheese. I didn’t buy cheese this week! Shock. Trying to reduce my dairy intake.
        In New Zealand we grill them in the oven usually, toasting the bread first then adding the toppings, or use a toastie maker. I haven’t tried using a skillet for this.

      • Toasted in the oven is good, too! Especially if you don’t have a burner to spare for a skillet on the stovetop. If you do your sandwich in the oven, you could maybe brush the bread with some melted butter or olive oil before it goes in and get a similar result…?

thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

