non-muffins for Monday – 4.19.12 – granola bars

When I saw a recipe for granola bars on Frugal Feeding (and saw how lovely those granola bars turned out), I was sure that I had to make them. Y’all know how I love my morning muffins during the week…but branching out is always nice, too. And Micah and I are big fans of granola, though mine never turns out quite as crispy-crunchy as my favorite store-bought brand, Goodness Gracious Granola (which is delicious, albeit a tad pricey for everyday eating).

Of course, actually making these granola bars proved more challenging than I imagined, partly because I converted the metric measurements to cups (not that I have anything against weighing ingredients to the nearest gram–just thought that if y’all wanted to follow my recipe, you might want it in cups instead).

Another change I made (but probably shouldn’t have) was reduce the sugar and fat in the recipe by just a little. While this did make my granola bars a smidge healthier, it also made them a good bit crumblier.

Finally, because my mixture looked so crumbly, I added an egg (which made my granola bars intentionally un-vegan, unlike the original recipe).

The final product:

just look at all those oats!

What’s in it:

  • 2-1/3 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 2/3 cup dried cranberries
  • 2/3 cup dried unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • some water (I didn’t measure it)

Step-by-step:

  • Preheat oven to 350°F and grease a 9″x13″ baking pan or line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.
  • In a large bowl, stir together the oats, pecans, cranberries, coconut, cinnamon, salt, and flour.
  • Heat the maple syrup and brown sugar together in a small saucepan until the brown sugar has melted. Add a little water to make a thick, caramel-y syrup.
  • Stir the sugars into your dry mixture.
  • Stir in the oil and the egg.
  • Add a tiny bit of water. Fret, because your granola mix still looks pretty dry. Add a little more water. Fret.
  • Resign yourself to having crumbly granola bars.
  • Press the mixture into your baking pan, or dump it onto your cookie sheet and form into a rectangle.
  • Bake for 30-40 minutes.
  • Let cool completely before attempting to cut into bars, which will probably fall apart anyway.
  • Resolve to follow the original recipe next time instead!

I suppose flouting the posted proportions earned me the fragile mess this recipe turned out to be. But although my granola bars disintegrated into, well, granola….they did taste really good! I’ll very likely attempt these again soon…but I won’t wing it quite so much next time. 🙂

Categories: recipes | Tags: , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “non-muffins for Monday – 4.19.12 – granola bars

  1. Those bars look amazing! I never thought of using egg as a binder for granola bars, but if it works and tastes good, that’s what counts!

    Making granola is pretty easy, but it sounds like granola bars are trickier. Did you see the posts that David Leibovitz put up about his failed multiple attempts to make granola? The poor man keeps making them and chucking the results in the trash.

    http://www.davidlebovitz.com/2012/02/and-this-time-i-mean-it/

    I think you’re right: it must be all about the sugar/fat ratio!

    • They were fragile, but tasty.

      I hadn’t read Leibovitz’s posts yet but just did–I’m glad I’m not the only person who struggles with making the perfect granola bar! But I’m also not ready to throw in the towel just yet. One link to Smitten Kitchen (posted in the comments of DL’s post) intrigued me:

      http://smittenkitchen.com/2010/02/thick-chewy-granola-bars/

      I’ll try Frugal Feeding’s recipe another time without as many changes, but maybe I’ll also try these one day…

  2. Pingback: muffins for Monday – 4.30.12 – pears galore! « humble feast

thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

