lazy brunch – 5.12.12 – tea-spiced oatmeal

Y’all know I love me some oatmeal.

Well, my mom and I were chatting the other day when I had a revelation: wouldn’t tea make an amazing cooking liquid for some oatmeal?

Yes. Yes, it would.

so close, you can almost taste it…

What’s in it:

  • 1 cup unsweetened tea (I used one bag of decaf Constant Comment)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • zest from one orange
  • 1 tablespoon butter

Step-by-step:

  • Combine all the ingredients except the butter in a small saucepan over medium heat.
  • Simmer for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the oats are tender and your oatmeal is nice and thick.
  • Stir in the butter. (This will make it extra creamy!)
  • Divide the finished oatmeal into two bowls and enjoy. (And I promise, you will.)

This stuff smelled amazing. The tea had warm spices and orange peel in it anyway, which made my additions of cardamom and orange zest a lovely complement. The coconut added to the exotic feel, while honey and cranberries gave it just the right amount of sweetness. What a simple, delicious breakfast for a rainy Saturday….

Categories: recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “lazy brunch – 5.12.12 – tea-spiced oatmeal

  1. This is an amazing idea! I love it! The cardamom especially caught my eye and I wonder if you used black tea and some milk, how chai oatmeal would be!

thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

