quick lunch (for one) – 5.22.12 – zucchini frittata

What to do when your husband’s out to lunch and you need a quick meal at home?

Make a frittata.

I say this authoritatively, like I do it all the time. But in reality, today was the first time I’ve ever made a frittata, and it’s pretty rare that I’m cooking lunch for one.ย 

As I had never cooked this Italian omelet-like dish before, I kind of winged it based on my best guess (and what I’ve seen folks do on the Food Network). I knew I needed eggs, plus some kind of vegetable and/or cheese filling, and I knew I needed my skillet o’ stuff to start on the stove and end in the oven.

Apparently, that’s all you really need to know.

you say frit-TAY-ta, I say frit-TAH-ta?

What’s in it:

  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 of a large zucchini, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried marjoram
  • a sprinkle of salt and pepper
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten with a little more salt and pepper
  • 1 ounce feta, crumbled

Step-by-step:

  • Heat the olive oil in a 6″ oven-proofย skillet over medium heat.
  • Add the garlic and cook for 2-3 minutes or until it starts to brown.
  • Add the zucchini, marjoram, and a sprinkle of salt and pepper. Cook for 5-7 minutes or until the zucchini is tender and starting to become translucent.
  • Pour in the beaten eggs. Let them cook, without stirring, for 3-5 minutes or until they are starting to set on the bottom.
  • Sprinkle on the feta.
  • Transfer your skillet to the oven and broil for about 5 minutes or until the frittata is golden brown and puffy (it’ll deflate when you take it out of the oven) and the egg is cooked through.
  • Use a heat-resistant silicone spatula to loosen the frittata from the skillet and slide it onto a plate.
  • Enjoy with fresh fruit, a green salad, and/or a slice of crusty bread.

Yum! Now that I know how to cook a frittata, and now that so many beautiful summer veggies are coming in, and now that I’m on vacation from school…I have a feeling I’ll be making more of these soon.

Categories: recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “quick lunch (for one) – 5.22.12 – zucchini frittata

  1. I want this for breakfast tomorrow! Looks delish!

  2. Oh, frittatas are so good! And yours looks great. Would never have known this was your first one! I was thinking about frittata today too.

    We must share a brain cell. But I think it stays with you most of the time ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Looks so so nice! I love making fritattas, I just bung anything in! Sweet potato, red onion and pepper is a winning combo for me!

    • Oooh, sweet potatoes sound delicious! One of my favorite veggies. And frittatas do seem to be pretty all-purpose and forgiving. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I am HUGE on frittatas and tend to throw in whatever I’ve got in the fridge. Yours looks delish!

    • That’s kinda what happened with this one, too. I had several different veggie choices and several different cheeses. This was definitely a winning winging-it combination! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Delicious!

  6. Pingback: potluck goodies – 7.4.12 – blueberry cherry clafoutis « humble feast

thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

