muffins for….uh, Thursday – 5.24.12 – Lilly’s strawberry nectarine

Who’s Lilly, you ask?

My smart, silly, beautiful six-year-old niece!

Lilly and I have a lot in common. We both love to read. We both love school. We’re both, well, not super coordinated. And we both like to cook!

So when my brother Dave asked if Lilly could hang out with me this morning for a couple of hours, of course that was fine by me.

For most of Lilly’s visit, I was a pretty boring hostess. I unloaded and reloaded the dishwasher. I washed, dried, and folded two loads of clothes. I scooped out the litter box.

Lilly had more fun. She decorated a bookmark with scented markers (which I didn’t even know I had!), and she read a few chapters of Charlotte’s Web (one of my very favorite children’s books), and she snuck up on me a few times while I was working and yelled, “Boo!” This was funny while I was folding clothes. Less funny when I was hand-washing our three sharpest knives–but I didn’t get cut, so I guess it’s okay. 🙂

Anyway, the other thing I needed to get done today involved nectarines. Three pretty little nectarines from Daily Grocery that I saw the other day and couldn’t pass up. Three not-as-pretty little nectarines once they sat in the fridge for a week. (Yes, they got a little mushy, just like my bananas and pears seem to do most of the time.)

I showed Lilly the wrinkly nectarines. “These aren’t really good for snacking on anymore, but they’ll be great if we smoosh them up and put them in some muffins. Wanna help?”

Of course she did!

Once I cut the mushy fruit away from the pits, it was Lilly’s job to press the button on the food processor to whir those faded beauties (peel and all) into a red-flecked golden puree. Standing on a step-stool, of course.

“Can we have strawberries, too?” she asked.

So I cut up some strawberries while Lilly cracked two eggs into the fruit, then stirred it all up with some Greek yogurt.

While Lilly worked the wet ingredients (singing “Muffins, muffins, muffins” the whole time), I measured most of the dry stuff. Lilly did the salt, baking soda, and baking powder. (Her Granny, my mom, has taught her well–she knows to scoop with the measuring spoon, then level it off before adding it to the bowl.)

One of Lilly’s charming quirks is that she wants to taste everything, even stuff you wouldn’t think a kid would like. I’ve seen her grind fresh black pepper into her palm and lick it up, sprinkle a pinch of cinnamon directly onto her tongue, eat a piece of raw lemon (including the rind), and now–lick baking powder straight from a measuring spoon.

“It tastes salty,” she informed me.

“I’ll bet!” I said.

Lilly mixed all of the dry ingredients, dumped them into the bowl of wet ingredients, added the strawberries, then stirred it all together. (I helped with this because the batter was pretty thick.)

I started to let Lilly spoon the batter into the muffin tin, but since it was almost time for her dad to pick her up, I asked her if she would mind my doing it instead. (“That way, they’ll be ready before you leave!”) She agreed that this would be the best course of action. 🙂

The finished muffins were too hot for Lilly to eat one before she left, but I did send a few home with her so she could have one after it cooled.

I ate one just a few minutes ago, and it was fabulous.

of course I couldn’t resist brightening up the picture with a few of
the fresh strawberries (from a little farm stand near Anderson, SC)

What’s in it:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 ounces raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2-3 nectarines, pureed (with the peel is fine)
  • 3/4 cup fat-free Greek yogurt
  • 2 eggs
  • about 3/4 cup diced fresh strawberries

Step-by-step:

  • Preheat your oven to 425°F and get a 12-cup muffin pan ready. (“Now you’ve got to use the non-stick spray,” Lilly told me. I showed her my rubbery red silicone muffin pan and told her it didn’t need any. “What if it was made of tin?” she asked. “Well,” I said, “then I guess I’d need some non-stick spray.”)
  • In a small bowl, stir together the flour, oats, brown sugar, sunflower seeds, salt, baking soda, and baking powder. Let your niece lick the measuring spoon if she really wants to. 🙂
  • In a larger bowl, stir together the pureed nectarines, yogurt, and eggs.
  • Add the dry ingredients and strawberries to the wet ingredients and stir until combined. Don’t forget to take turns!
  • Scoop the batter into the muffin cups, then bake for about 20 minutes. Visit the oven every few minutes to peek through the window and see how your muffins are doing. Comment on how good they smell!
  • Remove the muffins to a rack to cool.
  • Make sure you share these sweet treats with someone you really love. ♥

 

Categories: people, recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “muffins for….uh, Thursday – 5.24.12 – Lilly’s strawberry nectarine

  1. I’m sure the muffins are awesome, but not as awesome as the experience preparing them! Oh yea, I want one….

    • Absolutely!

      And you are welcome to have one if you come to Athens sometime in the next couple of days. Wait too long, and I can promise you they’ll be long gone. 🙂

  2. Sounds like you both had a lot of fun in the kitchen! Kids are funny. Once I was asked to help clean up someone’s kids for dinner. One of the girls asked me what soap tasted like. I said I didn’t know. Soapy, I suppose. So she squirted a big stream of soap in her mouth and swallowed it!

    I asked her how it was and she said it was gross. Then I told her that I wasn’t going to tell her mom and we went back downstairs like nothing happened. Kids!

    • That is hilarious! I’ll bet Lilly has tasted soap a time or two. And I wouldn’t be surprised if she liked it. She’s a weird kid. 🙂

      • When I was a kid, I love these Chinese shrimp chips that are basically just ground up shells that are made into a paste, deep fried, and then covered in salt and MSG. They grossed out all of my classmates who thought they smelled like fish food. I thought they were kind of gross too, but didn’t care. I still love them!

        And I still think they’re a little gross 😛

      • Our favorite weird snacks from the Asian grocery include crunchy little fried sardines and spicy dried squid, which we call “squid jerky.” So your shrimp chips sound right up our alley! 🙂

  3. Susie Criswell

    Such a great writer and auntie!

  4. Love your writing! And, you’re doing it again with this muffin thang. Darn it, I’m going to have to get myself a muffin tray (oops, don’t even know what they’re called). Seriously, strawberries and nectarines…sounds delish.

  5. Get a muffin pan and make some muffins! You won’t regret it. (If you do, just blame it on me.)

    And thank you for the very nice compliment. 🙂

  6. Pingback: an impossible quest, and lazy brunch – 6.2.12 – baked chocolate doughnuts « humble feast

  7. Pingback: a perfect 30th birthday, and a perfect field pea soup « humble feast

thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

