flourless chocolate peanut butter oatmeal muffins

It’s been a while since my last muffins for Monday recipe (which included chocolate chunks, pecans, and bacon), not so much because I haven’t been making muffins, but because I haven’t been doing much blogging.

That said, today’s muffin recipe is brand new and so yummy that I just had to share!

breakfast is gonna be really good this week.....

breakfast is gonna be really good this week…..

Despite my love of all things chocolate and peanut butter, I have never combined these two ingredients in a muffin recipe before, probably because I don’t like eating dessert for breakfast.

(If you’ve tried any of my muffin recipes before, you know that they are all very lightly sweetened and a far cry from the cake-disguised-as-breakfast muffins that lots of people make. And I do enjoy eating a sweet ‘n’ fluffy muffin every now and again–just not first thing in the morning!)

This recipe is rich and flavorful, but not overly sweet, which makes it a perfect little muffin to start your day off in a hearty and (mostly) healthy direction.

I should disclose that this recipe was kind of inspired by those no-bake peanut butter chocolate oatmeal cookies that our cafeteria always used to serve for dessert when I was a kid. (Though not quite as good for you as my muffins, those cookies are darn tasty and super easy to make–here’s a recipe!)

I should also disclose that this recipe is flourless not because of any recent developments in our ability to tolerate wheat or gluten….

I just happened to be out of whole wheat flour…

So why not experiment? 🙂

What’s in it:

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 3/4 cup fat free Greek yogurt
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Step by step:

  • Preheat your oven to 400°F and prepare a 12-cup muffin pan.
  • In a small bowl, whisk together the oats, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  • In a larger bowl, beat together the peanut butter, yogurt, eggs, and vanilla.
  • Stir the dry ingredients into the wet stuff just until everything’s incorporated.
  • Divide your batter among your 12 muffin cups. Unless you’re scared of raw eggs (I’m not), feel free to lick your spoon clean of all those deliciously chocolate-y, peanut butter-y batter remnants.
  • Bake the muffins for 15-18 minutes or until they’ve risen nicely and are firm enough to spring back a little when you press the tops.
  • Let the muffins cool in the pan for a few minutes, then remove from the pan and cool to room temperature.

I ate one of these babies as soon as it left the pan, and it was pretty special. The cocoa flavor is dark and rich, and the nuttiness of the oats nicely complements the peanut butter flavor.

I was a little worried about how the texture would turn out since I had used all oats and no flour, fearing my muffins might end up a bit fragile and crumbly, but I think the eggs and the stickiness of the peanut butter gave them enough body and structure.

Now that I’ve made tried my hand at flourless muffins, I’m excited to try some more variations, and of course I’ll try to squeeze in a blog post here and there when I do. 🙂

Categories: recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “flourless chocolate peanut butter oatmeal muffins

  1. This looks so good! Peanut butter, chocolate, oats- sold! I’m thinking I’m going to be making muffins soon 🙂

  2. Less keen on peanut butter regardless of loving peanuts, these sound so tempting! Darn, I really am going to have to start baking – soon!

  3. Your picture is gorgeous jumps right off the page…but sadly not into my mouth 😦

  4. Wow these look great. I love your honesty about your real reason for not using flour! 🙂 Sometimes the best food can be found by changing gears sometimes. I’m still amazed that there is no flour and yet they look like muffins. I have been thinking about making muffins for a while. I bought flexible tins and I haven’t used them yet. I was thinking mini muffins. That could be on tomorrow’s schedule. It’s raining and feels like muffin making weather.

  5. Those look divine and decadent! I can’t believe you made me say “Mmmmmm,” about something gluten-free! Actually, you have done it before, you devious cook, you 😉

  6. Anonymous

    Just made them using palm sugar instead of brown sugar! They are delicious!

  7. Sue

    Just made these – they stayed together beautifully, but my family and I found them a bit bland and not sweet enough (and I generally don’t like things sweet). I’m wondering if it’s because I used natural unsweetened PB. if I make these again, I would add more brown sugar, or add some honey, or a dollop of jam in the middle of each muffin before baking.

  8. Cimmie Gilmore

    I love your desserts and I would really like to know where can u find these peas? These are the ones I have been looking for since my grandmother was alive

  9. Tasha

    I have these baking in my oven as we speak. I’m usually not one for flour less any thing but couldn’t turn them down! I had to use regular yogurt, since I had no Greek, as well as quick cooking oats. So we will see how these beauties turn out!

    • Tasha

      Just took my first bite. Should have used rolled oats. And next time possibly a vanilla flavoured yogurt to add a little more sweetness. Delicious though !

thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.